The MTN data gifting is a free service by MTN to allow you as a user to transfer data from your active data balance to your family and friends, buy data for friends, and request data from your family and friends. With the service, you can send and buy data bundles for your other smartphones, modems and tablets. The data gifting is applicable to all customers on the MTN network.
The amount of data you can transfer at a time are 10MB, 50MB, and 100MB. However, you must ensure you have at least 50MB in your data balance after every transfer for your data gifting transfer to be successful. You only need to enter your beneficiary’s phone number and choose a data plan to use the service.
The maximum number of times you can transfer is twice daily. However, the cumulative amount you can transfer at a given time and in a day is 100MB. You can buy any data plan multiple times for your beneficiary as long as you have sufficient credit in your line. You will be able to send a request for data at most 5 times a day, but you shall be able to receive data request multiple times.
How to Activate the MTN Data Gifting Service
You can access the service by dialling 1 *131*7# on your phone, visiting myMTN App, sending SMS keyword, or dialling direct shortcodes for the respective options:
- Transfer Data: You can now transfer from your existing Data Balance with your friends and family: Simply dial 1 *131*Phone number* Data amount# or, text Transfer<space>Phone number<space>Data amount and to 131
- Buy Data for a Friend: You can buy a specific bundle for that special friend and you will be charged from your airtime. Simply dial *131*Bundle Activation Code*Beneficiary’s Phone number#
- Request Data from a Friend: Don’t get stranded or go without Data on your phone, you can now request for data from that Special friend. Simply dial *131*7*3#
- View Pending Request: To check all your existing requests. Simply dial *131*7*4#
You will be able to check your MTN data gifting bundle balance via the following channels:
SMS: Texting 2 to 131
USSD: dialling *131*4#
Types of bundle you can gift a friend
You can only buy and transfer data from your daily, weekly, and monthly bundle plans, but, you shall not be able to gift from an XtraValue bundle. A request will be active for 48 hours on your view pending request menu and you will be able to see only the 10 most recent ones if you have multiples.
If you just purchased a monthly bundle, but you’re still having unused data in your daily and weekly bundle balance that will soon expire. Can you transfer the daily and weekly bundles to my friend? You will only be able to transfer from the bundle with the latest validity at any given time and the expiry date will be the same on the beneficiary’s line.
If you are having 5MB, 25MB, and 40MB remaining in my daily, weekly, and monthly balance respectively. Will you be able to transfer from your combined data balance to a friend? No, you will not be able to combine your total balance for any transfer. You will only be able to transfer from the data plan that has sufficient balance.
But the data you received will deplete first before your active data bundle. If someone buys data for you with the multiple data bundles active on your line, the data bundle with the least validity will be used first. Example: If you have an active 30-day bundle plan and received a gift of the 1-day plan, the 1-day plan will be used first before the 30-day plan.
You will only be able to enjoy a bonus on the bundle that is bought for you if you are eligible for the offers, but you will not be able to enjoy a bonus on data that is transferred to you. You will only be able to auto-renew the MTN data gifting bundle that was bought for you by sending the opt-in keyword to 131, but the bundle that was transferred to you will not auto-renew and will be valid till the expiry date.
Will you be able to roll over my unused MTN Data Gifting bundle?
Yeas, You will be able to roll over any unused main data bundle that is bought for you as long as you buy or receive another bundle before the current bundle expires or within the allowed grace period after the bundle expires. BUT you will NOT be able to roll over any unused data bonus and data that is transferred to you.